Grover Washington, Jr. Middle School

Principal
Jovan Moore

201 East Olney Avenue
Philadelphia PA 19120
Phone: 215-456-0422

Who We Are

Who We Are

Faculty & Staff

Teachers in alphabetical order

Erica Andrews - 6th & 7th grade inclusion

Email - eandrews@philasd.org

Joanne Bailey (Minus) - 6th and 7th Math

Email - jobailey@philasd.org

Ryan Binder-  7th grade Science

rebinder@philasd.org 

Shannon Blair (Egenolf) - 6th grade Literacy and SS

Email - sblair@philasd.org 

Raymond Brettle - 6th grade Math, Literacy, Science and SS

Email - rbrettle@philasd.org 

Scott Brown - 7th Math

Email - scabrown@philasd.org 

Romeo Cochrane - 6th and 7th Literacy

Email - rcochrane@philasd.org 

Timothy Dodd - ESOL

Email - tbdodd@philasd.org 

Matthew Eisen - 7th grade Science

Email - mheisen@philasd.org 

Phillippa Elliot-  8th grade Math

Email- pelliotramsay@philasd.org 

Charron Fayall (Zeigler) - 5th grade Math and SS

Email - cazeiglerfayall@philasd.org 

Christina Feeney (Hiferty) - Teacher AS- Autistic Support

Email - ccfeeney@philasd.org 

Robert Freed - Computer Technology

Email- rfreed@philasd.org 

Jennifer Freeman - Literacy

Email - jlfreeman@philasd.org 

Sybil Gabay - Special Education- LSS 

Email - sgabay@philasd.org 

Michael Galbraith - 7th grade Literacy 

Email - mgalbraith@philasd.org 

Michael General - ES Inclusion

Email - mgeneral@philasd.org 

Amy Gottesman - 6th grade Math

Email - abgottesman@philasd.org 

Gina Griffith - Computer Technology 

Email - ggriffith@philasd.org

Tammie Harley - 7th & 8th grade inclusion

Email - tharley@philasd.org 

Gwen Huett (Murry) - 5th grade Literacy and SS

Email - gcmurray@philasd.org 

Scott Jasner- 7th grade Social Studies

snjasner@philasd.org 

Paula Krupit - 5th and 6th grade Science

Email - pkrupit@philasd.org

Michelle McQuade - 5th grade Literacy

Email - mmcquade@philasd.org 

Erica Ness - ESOL

Email - ehness@philasd.org 

Jennifer Newman - Autistic Support Teacher

jwilk@philasd.org 

Patrice Parks - 5th & 6th grade Inclusion

Email - pparks@philasd.org 

Ronald Persia - Physical Education and Health

Email - rpersia@philasd.org 

Bradley Portnoy - 5th grade 

Email - bdportnoy@philasd.org 

John Reinhard - 8th grade Math and Social Studies

Email - jrreinhard@philasd.org 

Kaitlyn Smicherko- 8th grade Literacy

Email- ksmicherko@philasd.org 

Cynthia Small-Konneh - Teacher

E-Mail- csmall@philasd.org 

Julia Smith - Physical Education and Health

Email - juksmith@philasd.org

Adrienne Staten - 7th grade Literacy

Email - anstaten@philasd.org 

Robert Tate - 6th and 7th grade Social Studies

Email - rtate@philasd.org

Christine Zlobinsky- 6th grade Math & Social Studies

Email- czlobinsky@philasd.org 

School Support Team

Parents may call the office to leave a message for a staff member.

215-456-0422 

Office Hours: 8:45 AM - 3:30 PM

 

Administrators

Jovan A. Moore, Principal

Mr. Wilson, Assistant Principal 

 

Dean's of Students

  • Julia Smith-
juksmith@philasd.org
  • Robert Tate - 
rtate@philasd.org

 

School-Based Teacher Leaders

  • Shannon Blair - SBTL for Literacy
sblair@philasd.org
  • Romeo Cochrane Ed. D.- Teacher Support Leader
rcochrane@philasd.org
  • Amy Gottesman- SBTL for MATH
 abgottesman@philasd.org

 

Roster Co-Chairs

  • Amy Gottesman - 
abgottesman@philasd.org
  • John Reinhard - 
jrreinhard@philasd.org

 

Technology Leader 

Robert Freed TTL-

rfreed@philasd.org 

 

Counselor

Fran Stewart

fstewart@philasd.org 

 

Nurse

       Darlene McKenzie-

                 dmckenzie@philasd.org 

 

Secretary - Bilingual Spanish 

Alemaria Andino-Whitaker -

aandino@philasd.org

 

School Transformation Facilitator 

Marissa Johnson -

mbjohnson@jhu.edu

 

School Police Officers

Derrick Jones

Valerie Paulk