Jay Cooke Elementary School K - 8th

Principal
Dr. Lisa Bell-Chiles

1300 W. Louden Street
Philadelphia PA 19141
Phone: 215 456-3002

The Pride of the Lions

Jay Cooke Elementary School

Message from the Principal

Welcome to Jay Cooke Elementary ! You will find this website to have all the information you will need to get to know Jay Cooke.  We are truly a special place where children come to learn.

 

Jay Cooke is a community school with a wonderful caring, energetic and hardworking staff.  They work together as a team and are consistently trying to make Jay Cooke an even better place for children.  We encourage our parents to come and work with us.  Our list of Home and School members  and parent volunteers continues to grow!

 

The District provides opportunities for staff development.  Our credentialed specialists teach the children skills on the computer, music, art and physical education.  We also have both an instrumental and vocal music teachers!

 

We utilize the Pennsylvania Standards and the District Core Curriculum to provide and education based on high expectations for all children. 

 

Sincerely,

Dr. Lisa Bell-Chiles, Principal

 

 

Welcome New Teachers

 



School Staff List

2013-2014

Faculty & Staff                                                

Dr. Lisa Bell-Chiles       lbellchiles@philasd.org

Principal

Janet Rivera                  jrivera@philasd,org.

School Secretary

Melissa Thompson        medjones@philasd.org

School Based Teacher Leader

Cordelia Kao                 yyangkao@philasd.org

ESOL

Melissa Thompson        medjones@philasd.org

Kindergarten

Jewett Mistelle               mscostello@philasd.org

Kindergarten

Jenna Silverman           jkostaras@philasd.org

1st Grade

Kelly Eisele                   keisele@philasd.org

1st Grade

Shain Grady                   sgrady@philasd.org

2nd  Grade

Stephanie  Dubin  Fliegelman      sdubinfeligelman@philasd.org

2nd Grade

Sondra Gonzales          swgonzalez@philasd.org

3rd Grade

Corrie Shields                 cshields@philasd.org

3rd Grade

Louise Sample            lsample2@philasd.org

4th Grade

Danecia Berrien           dberrien@philasd.org

4th Grade

Alicia Boyd                   afarringtonboyd@philasd.org

5th Grade

Alexandria Galambos     agalambos@philasd.org

5th Grade

Lavada Johnson-Bolden   lajohnson@philasd.org

6th Grade

Kate Mansfield            kmansfield@philasd.org

6th Grade

Thelma Custis             tecustis@philasd.org

7th  Grade

Heather Liszonas

7th Grade

Christine Kolenut       ckolenut@philasd.org 

8th Grade

Charlette Walker        cwalker@philasd.org

8th Grade

Robert Morris

School Psychologist

Gwendolyn Mabine    gmabine@philasd.org

School Nurse

Melissa Ciocca          mciocca@philasd.org

SEL/ Learning Support(3-5)

Marcel Reynolds       mreynolds@philasd.org

Autistic Support (K-2)

Classroom Assistant

Samantha Lichenstein  slichtensein@philasd.org

Learning Support (K-2 )

Marjory Tuff                   mtuff@philasd.org

Learning Support (6-8)

Deanna Shorter             DLShorter@gmail.com

Gwendolyn Briggs         gwen8275@gmail.com

Contracted Emotional Support (6-8)

Classroom Assistant

D. Lewkowicz                dlewkowicz@philasd.org

Speech Therapist

Angela Beidler               abeidler@philas.org

 Music/ Instrumental

 Sarah Vallery                svallery@philasd.org

  

 Music/ Vocal

Rebecca Jones            rcjones@philasd.org

 Art

  

 Gregory Mirakian     gmirackian@philasd.org

Health/Phys. Ed./  Instructional Climate Leader

 Officer Jonathan Lane

 School Police Officer

 

Ms.  Hill

NTA

Mr.  Albert

NTA

Ms. Palmer

NTA

Mr. Jamal

NTA

Schamina Allen

Food Services

Gloria Gales

Food Services

 

 

    

Principa Lisa Bell-Chiles

Points of Pride and Partnerships


  • Villanova University Mentors
  • Golden Attitude Club
  • Need in Deed
  • Second Macedonia Baptist Church
  • AVID 
  • Lexia
  • Good Friday Women's Auxiliary
  • Robotics Club
  • Nu Sigma Beacon Afterschool
  • Achieve 3000  
  • First in Math
  • Fitness Center
  • Philadelphia College of Optometry Partnership
  • Instrumental Ensemble
  • Home and School Association
  • Drexel University Nutrition Program
  • St. Christopher Hospital Partnership
  • Ronald McDonald Dental Partnership
  • 21st Century Center of Research and Development in Cognition and Science